Makers of Music Mondays: Keaton Henson-Live

Last February, a year ago, on a whim (well because I can count on Youtube’s Mahogany Sessions never to fail in the presenting of lovely musical artists) I watched this (almost unbearably) heart-wrenching  song. I feel like the term “song” though, misrepresents. It was something quite deep for me. Sung by (and again, “sung” seems to undermine the reality of his distinct vocal quality) the exquisitely candid, (though very much to himself) Keaton Henson, the performance struck me, and I was enraptured. Unexpected tears fell down my face at the phrase “I’m truly alone…and I like it.” Whoa. Suddenly I am reminded of the quote of Charlie’s (I JUST REALIZED HE HAS NO LAST NAME!) of Perks of Being a Wallflower fame, “we accept the love we think we deserve.”

How profoundly sad.

If you must weep, do it right here in my bed as I sleep…

If you must speak, speak every word as if it were unique.

Much love and good night,

Rai

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

